In it to win it!

Standard

Am I not in the city of entertainment? Am I not in the home of film and theatrical performance? Didn’t I just see a sign for Broadway yesterday?

I am and I did.

This IS the land where the Biggest Superstar Actors wander freely to get their Starbucks or to walk their miniature dogs, dressed better than me I have noticed. And so if the dreamers who want to make it on the big screen or the silver stage come here to audition then I must be in the right place?

I went to my first audition today. I know I’ve had a crazy week; what with joining a knitting circle, a book club with some real life Sex and the City girls, keeping on top of the Black History Month events with none other than Lonnie “the minister saxophonist” Youngblood and his tribute to gospel and someone in conversation with Whitney Houston’s aunt Dionne Warwick. I am just exhausted reading that last sentence back, but I am not one to turn down a potential story. So when the opportunity arose to audition to play Rosalind Franklin, the X-ray crystallographer cheated out of the recognition she deserved for her contribution to the discovery of the structure of DNA, I jumped at it. After all I have acted successfully before. Aged 9 I was reportedly convincing as an elderly woman charged with taking in evacuees during the war. Allegedly I even sang my solos well. Although I have never replicated such a feat – singing well that is. Despite being less convincing as an extra in the Universal Studios Earthquake remake I have spent the next decade or so simply reflecting on my past performances and acquiring valuable experience through living mostly. Taking a break from my obvious career on stage and screen, but never relinquishing that burning desire to be stood on any stage or even a slightly raised platform with an adoring crowd. I yearn to be the centre of attention for a feature length of time. This was my chance. Regardless of the fact that this was an amateur production of the unravelling of DNA, and it would probably not be seen by Spike Lee or Darren Aronofsky, I dared to hope that due to sheer proximity to the established film glitterati I had a distinct advantage over most. After all you have to be “in it to win it”. However, by that catchword, you have to first be IN IT.

I am waiting to hear back. But I am confident. Every inch of me.

Leave a Reply

