Documenting the Tonys because it makes my heart soar!

Standard

Neil Patrick Harris opens the show with a number entitled “It’s not just for gays anymore”. He promises “there’s so much to discover with your different-gendered lover!” Indeed.

This is the Oscars with musical show tune accompaniment. Needless to say I am delighted.

First up Best Actress (without singing) presented by my absolute favourite Mr Alec Baldwin…. and the winner is Ellen Barkin for playing Dr Emma Brookner in the Broadway Revival of The Normal Heart. Saw it last night. Great voice.

Book of Mormon is cleaning up and with lyrics like

“I believe that in 1978 God changed his mind about black people. I am a mormon”

“I believe that the Garden of Eden was in Jackson County, Missouri”

I cannot wait to sing along to this one on Broadway.

Daniel Radcliffe’s ensemble get on the Beacon Theater stage to perform a number from his musical “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying”. Not too bothered about that one I must admit.

I am getting nervous now though as Best Actor nominations include Al Pacino and although I obviously LOVE Pacino (OOooo Haaaaa) he is up against the magnificent Mark Rylance who has been labelled the “best actor of his generation” and rightly so. This man should win every award he is nominated if only for the fact that he historically gives the most diverting acceptance speeches. But not simply for that. If I could pontificate a trifle more. If you ever have the opportunity to see this man on stage then jump at the chance. Leap I tell you and you won’t regret a moment. In fact I dare you to take your eyes off him.

Now a Hugh Jackman versus Neil Patrick Harris sing off. Happiness in the form of musical Broadway showbiz. I cannot express how much I love jazz hands. I may have to march around my apartment in the commercial breaks (we all know there must be another one coming up any minute. This is the US. TV means ads) and sing a few show tunes. Don’t Rain on my parade encore? Cut to Alec Baldwin who clearly loves the Jackman/Harris medley as he wolf whistles beaming from ear to ear. Why are the general public, clearly as devoted to this business as the professionals themselves not allowed in? Can you imagine if I were in the audience. No check that. My heart might actually burst. That would be embarrassing not to mention messy.

Bono and The Edge (is this really his grown up name?) have taken some abuse so far from the host as their musical debut “Spiderman: Turn off the Dark” has had a rocky opening road on Broadway. Broken arms, legs and actors don’t make for safe theatre and they are just now being permitted to release their revised million-dollar-over-budget production next week. But never known for being humble these Irishmen do very well (I know I admit it I am proud of you Jesus… oops I mean Bono) in mocking themselves and their initially cursed launch.

Robin Williams gives Book of Mormon another award (is someone counting or did you also lose count a while ago?) and Whoopi Goldberg introduces another musical number in the form of her Broadway Musical “Sister Act“.

Best Play nominees are Jerusalem, Good People, The Mother with the Hat, and War Horse (which is booked and I am eager to see these magnificent puppets from Michael Morpurgo’s children’s book of the same name). So we are winding down now and building up at the same time to the final biggies. Best Play, Best Actor and Best Musical. Here we go and Samuel L. Jackson comes out to present it. (If only the Bronx Zoo cobra were here. I’ve heard they’re friends?)

WAR HORSE WINS. Come on Michael Morpurgo. Come on the Brits.

Anything Goes looks like a true hoot! Sailor hats, tap dancing. real old fashioned Broadway style. Best get my credit card out again. Ouch!

Vanessa Redgrave and James Earl Jones are giants on stage and get a standing ovation and a sigh of joy from the audience when each of them introduce the next section of the show. Darth Vader and Guenevere of Camelot. Who could ask for anything more from an evening of great performances.

Frances McDormand wins Best Actress in a Leading Role and she accepts the award on stage decked out in her denim jacket. She passionately “loves her job” and I am regretting that I unfortunately missed this performance.
The company of Priscilla Queen of the Desert and the original Weather Girl take to the stage now. It’s Raining Men. And despite Neil Patrick Harris’ opening announcement I would still estimate that about 90% of the audience would not complain about that particular meteorological phenomenon.
Come on the Tonys. Let’s award Mr Rylance already so I can go to sleep. Here comes Catherine Zeta Jones looking stunning. Doing the Welsh proud. She announces the nominees and my heart stops as she pauses before the result.
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! Mark Rylance. You take the award for the Best Actor of all time. Al Pacino. So sorry but go and see Jerusalem and you’ll understand everything. I am tired now. These shows are so long but totally worth it.
Leave a Reply

