The End

Standard

I find it is almost always best to write a blog post with a splitting headache, very puffy red eyes and tear stained cheeks. It adds an element of the ridiculous and you’ll probably agree, when you hear why I find myself in this state this Sunday evening as the Oscars play on TV from California State.

3 minutes ago I closed a window on my laptop rolling the credits to the last episode of the seventh and final season of The West Wing.

west-wing

Is it my blurry vision or is this image a little misty?

Slow off the mark, I began my adventure with the Bartlett Administration only a few months ago. It has taken me much less time than the American public (it took them 7 years of course) and I cannot possibly imagine the personal strain such an investment would have had on the general public: the avid, passionate viewers of this drama series that is.

I have laughed at the sparky speedy wit of my favourites: President Bartlett, Toby, CJ and Joshua Lyman to name a few. I have gasped at the twists and turns, the shocks and surprise attacks, the near deaths, the possible frauds, the loves lost and finally realised. I have cried. Well a lot, so the list would be less blog post, more government legislative document. And I have gradually increased my consumption of episodes to a whopping 7 or 8 a night as I powered through to the end, a bittersweet undertaking that had me hungry for more and clear that at some point there would be none. I don’t want to reveal anything specific, because well that is unfair, but let me say this. In the final episode that just had me heaving and rosy cheeked, I felt like my heart was being stripped out of my chest, as President Jed Bartlett strode the halls of his West Wing one final time. Mr Aaron Sorkin has a lot to answer for. I know most of my friends will be relieved to know it is finally over, and for them too. It is not right to talk of these fictional characters as if they were real and living. But I couldn’t help it and for that I apologise. My sort of family will be greatly missed and I must take a few days to breathe deeply and take a step back from this overblown intensity and hope that I can go on with life as normal, without my President and his impressive team.

Too much? Possibly. But did I mention that I am an emotional dribble on my sofa right now? So a little bit of dramatic rambling should be expected.

I also think a lesson should be learned here. If I discover a quality drama series has finished long ago and so offers all episodes to me back-to-back, then I should slowly step away. Resist any urge or well-intentioned advice, and go for a run instead. Yes. Good idea me.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Every Little Helps | Bettyboo

Leave a Reply

